top of page

Meet the Team

We're in the early stages of development for the Welsh Jewish Cultural Centre project, and we're lucky to have a passionate and knowledgeable team who are helping us through the process. From our Patrons to our Steering Committee, our Advisers to our team of external consultants - here's who is working on the project.

Steering Committee

Finito Stephen Goldman-2.jpg

Stephen Goldman


Steering Committee

MM pic.JPG

Michael Mail


Foundation for Jewish Heritage


Nigel Fine


Family connections to synagogue


Neil Richardson

Project Director 

Adam Hitchings.jpg

Adam Hitchings

Architectural Heritage Fund

Helen Atkinson.jpg

Helen Atkinson

Jewish Museum London


Special Ambassadors

  • Dawn Bowden MS

  • Gerald Jones MP

Dawn Bowden
Gerald Jones

We're also working with:

Project Architect:

Ashley Davies, GWP Architects

Landscape Architect:

Bronwen Thomas

Cost Consultants:

Greenwood Projects


Fundraising Consultants:

The Funding Centre, Cardiff


Business Planning:

Miki Lentin and Lucy Shaw, Cultural Associates Oxford

Activity Planning:

Ruth McKew, Headland

Community Engagement:

Ashley Collins


Emily Smith, Holocaust Educational Trust

Marketing and Communications:

Lauren Webb, Roscoe Communications



  • Prof Nathan Abrams, Bangor University

  • Aaqil Ahmed, Higher Education Funding Council for Wales, former Head of Religion and Ethics at the BBC and Channel 4

  • Peter Aiers, Churches Conservation Trust

  • Justin Albert OBE, National Trust Wales

  • Sian Anthony, Wellbeing @ Merthyr

  • Bennett Arron, comedian, writer and actor

  • Ivor Baddiel, scriptwriter and author

  • Marc Cave, The National Holocaust Centre and Museum

  • Dr Chris Clifford, historian, former Merthyr resident, writing history of Synagogue

  • Elaine Davey, The Victorian Society – Wales Group

  • Ashley Davies, Ashley Davies Architects

  • Aaron Davis, heritage-led advisor, former Executive Director for Architecture, Prince’s Foundation

  • Geraint Talfan Davies, The Cyfarthfa Foundation

  • Dr Grahame Davies LVO, researcher and author, former Merthyr resident

  • Susan Fielding, Royal Commission on the Ancient and Historical Monuments of Wales

  • Rod Francis, Cyfarthfa High School

  • Rabbi Yisroel Fine, former Merthyr resident, son of former Merthyr Synagogue Rabbi

  • Bev Garside, Empower Consultancy

  • Elinor Gilbey, Josef Herman Art Foundation

  • Dr Jaclyn Granick, Cardiff University

  • Jennifer Harding-Richards, Swansea Council (RE Adviser)

  • Adam Hitchings, Architectural Heritage Fund

  • Lyndon Howells, Merthyr resident

  • Sioned Hughes, National Museum Wales

  • Adrian Jacobs BEM, who assisted with the Merthyr Synagogue closure, grandson of last Synagogue President

  • David Jacobs, Jewish Historical Society of Great Britain

  • Frances Jeens, Jewish Museum London

  • Dr Cai Parry-Jones, UK Holocaust Memorial and Learning Centre, author of ‘The Jews of Wales: A History’

  • Father Mark Prevett, St. David, St. Tydfil and St. Tydfil’s Well Churches

  • Laurence Kahn, South Wales Jewish Representative Council and Interfaith Council for Wales

  • Dawn Lancaster, Llandudno Museum and Gallery

  • Dr Daryl Leeworthy, Cultural Historian

  • David Lermon, cultural historian

  • Lisbeth McLean, Canolfan a Theatr Soar

  • Christine Moore, Welsh Religious Buildings Trust

  • Fiyaz Mughal OBE, Faith Matters

  • Michael Newman, The Association of Jewish Refugees

  • Christopher Parry, Cyfarthfa Castle Museum and Art Gallery

  • Kerry Patterson, Scottish Jewish Heritage Centre

  • Elen Phillips, National Museum Wales

  • Gareth Redston, Manchester Jewish Museum

  • Marcus Roberts, JTrails

  • Tim Robertson, The Anne Frank Trust UK

  • Rabbi Michoel Rose, Cardiff United Synagogue

  • Pat Ruddock, Mann Williams Consulting Civil and Structural Engineers

  • Stanley Soffa, Jewish History Association of South Wales

  • Zoe Thomas, Merthyr Tydfil County Borough Council

  • Karen Vowles, Voluntary Action Merthyr Tydfil

  • Dr Peter Wakelin, writer and curator

  • Dawn Waterman, Board of Deputies of British Jews

  • Anne Yates, Wellbeing @ Merthyr

bottom of page